What is Toyota Safety Sense

What is Toyota Safety Sense

Everyone benefits when vehicles are equipped with advanced automatic safety technology, but these technologies are most effective when drivers understand how they work. That’s why Toyota, the first automaker committed to making such systems standard equipment on almost every model and trim level sold in Canada, has launched a comprehensive awareness and education campaign to help drivers learn about, and understand, Toyota Safety Sense. For Mono, ON residents looking for more information about Toyota Safety Sense, you have come to the right place. In this blog by Orangeville Toyota, we talk about the Toyota Safety Sense system!

Click here to begin browsing through our inventory of Toyota vehicles at Orangeville Toyota in Orangeville, ON!

What is Toyota Safety Sense?

Toyota Safety Sense is a series of active safety technologies that aim to help mitigate collisions, help drivers stay in their lanes, and improve night driving safety. This safety technology comes in two packages, Toyota Safety Sense C and Toyota Safety Sense P, and is offered on modern models representing approximately 90 percent of expected Toyota sales.

The Toyota Safety Sense C (TSS-C)

Toyota Safety Sense C is comprised of three active safety technologies, Pre-Collision System, Lane Departure Alert and Automatic High Beams. It features a camera and laser beam to help prevent or mitigate collisions and is included as standard safety equipment on the following models: Toyota Yaris Hatchback, Toyota Prius c and Toyota Corolla iM.

The Toyota Safety Sense P (TSS-P)

Toyota Safety Sense P includes four active safety technologies: Pre-Collision System with pedestrian detection, Dynamic Radar Cruise Control, Lane Departure Alert with Steering Assist, and Automatic High Beams. It consists of a camera and millimetre-wave radar for precise detection and awareness. This System is included as standard safety equipment on the following models: Toyota Corolla, Toyota Prius, Toyota Prius Prime, Toyota RAV4 and RAV4 Hybrid, Toyota Highlander and Highlander Hybrid.

Toyota Safety Sense 2.0

Toyota believes that no matter the destination, everyone deserves to arrive safely. That’s why Toyota Safety Sense (TSS) is standard on virtually all Toyota models. TSS is an advanced suite of active safety designed to support driver awareness, decision making, and vehicle operation over a wide range of speeds.

Crash protection starts with crash prevention. Packaged together in an integrated system, TSS helps address three key areas of accident protection: preventing or mitigating frontal collisions, keeping drivers within their lane, and enhancing road safety during night-time driving.

Mono, ON customers looking for more information about Toyota Safety Sense can find it on our Orangeville Toyota website, or by visiting our dealership in Orangeville, ON. Click here to find our contact information, schedule a test drive, or to speak with a representative.
















Recent Posts

The Toyota Tacoma we know and love gets ready for even more rugged off-road adventures for 2022. The Tacoma’s Trail Edition receives some exciting u...Read More


Refined and Redesigned – The 2021 Toyota Venza After almost a 6 year hiatus, the Toyota Venza is back for 2021 with refined style and flare. A mid-s...Read More


Stylish on the outside, refined on the inside, meet the new, all-hybrid 2021 Toyota Sienna. Loaded with connected technology to make life on the go si...Read More